Grid region
Data centers on the PJM grid
PJM Interconnection runs the grid and wholesale markets for all or parts of 13 states and Washington, DC, from New Jersey to Illinois. It is home to Northern Virginia, the largest data center market in the world, and to the fastest-growing capacity costs.
Campuses228 four-bolt, 6 three-bolt
Announced48,310 MWAt full buildout
Expected by 203016,446 MW10.3% of peak
Gas burn1,389 MMcf/dAverage day
What is happening
- Capacity prices rose from $28.92/MW-day (2024/25) to the $325 cap for 2026/27 through 2028/29; the market monitor attributes $6.3 billion (38%) of the 2028/29 auction to data centers.
- PJM filed a one-time backstop auction for a 6.8 GW shortfall (price cap $555/MW-day; results due Dec 2, 2026) and expects up to 70 GW of large-load growth by 2038.
- Virginia regulators ordered Dominion to make data centers pay for transmission built only for them (Aug 5, 2026); Dominion's GS-5 large-load class takes effect Jan 1, 2027.
- DOE emergency orders in May and June 2026 let PJM call on data center backup generators during heat waves.
Load and gas by 2030
- Expected load by 2030
- 16,446 MW
- Grid-served
- 15,265 MW
- On-site (behind the meter)
- 1,181 MW
- Share of system peak
- 10.3% of peak (PJM 2025 summer peak, 160,000 MW)
- Added gas burn
- 1,389 MMcf/d average day
- Gas share of new supply (assumption)
- 60% (method)
Campuses on this grid
| Campus | Location | Status | Announced MW | Expected MW 2030 | Power supply | Gas MMcf/d | Impact | Conf. |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| PORTS Technology CampusSB Energy / SoftBank (New Day Data Centers) · DC-021 | Piketon, OH | Under construction | 10,000 | 2,400 | Not disclosed | 187.6 | C | |
| TECfusions Keystone ConnectTECfusions · DC-001 | Upper Burrell, PA | Operating, expanding | 3,000 | 1,620 | Not disclosed | 126.7 | D | |
| Amazon Northeast Creek Technology CampusAmazon · DC-035 | Louisa County, VA | Under construction | 2,700 | 1,296 | Grid | 101.3 | C | |
| Amazon Project RainierAmazon (for Anthropic) · DC-038 | New Carlisle, IN | Operating, expanding | 2,200 | 1,188 | Grid | 92.9 | C | |
| Aligned Shippingport (Bruce Mansfield)Aligned Data Centers · DC-042 | Shippingport, PA | Under construction | 2,000 | 960 | Not disclosed | 75.1 | C | |
| Nscale Monarch Compute CampusNscale · DC-051 | Point Pleasant, WV | Under construction | 2,000 | 960 | Not disclosed | 75.1 | C | |
| Tract Hanover Technology ParkTract · DC-039 | Ashland, VA | Approved | 2,400 | 936 | Grid (Dominion) | 73.2 | B | |
| Meta PrometheusMeta · DC-080 | New Albany, OH | Operating, expanding | 1,000 | 900 | Grid + on-site gas | 82.9 | B | |
| Homer City Energy CampusHomer City Redevelopment · DC-029 | Homer City, PA | Under construction | 4,500 | 864 | On-site gas | 142.6 | B | |
| AWS Project GalaxyAmazon · DC-065 | Sidney, OH | Under construction | 1,500 | 720 | Grid | 56.3 | C | |
| Stargate LordstownOpenAI / SoftBank / Oracle · DC-066 | Lordstown, OH | Under construction | 1,500 | 720 | Not disclosed | 56.3 | C | |
| Google Project ZodiacGoogle · DC-003 | Fort Wayne, IN | Operating, expanding | 1,200 | 648 | Grid | 50.7 | B | |
| STACK NVA02STACK Infrastructure · DC-014 | Bristow, VA | Operating | 420 | 504 | Grid | 39.4 | C | |
| TA Realty Leesburg campusTA Realty · DC-012 | Leesburg, VA | Operating | 450 | 450 | Grid | 35.2 | C | |
| Joliet Technology CenterHillwood / PowerHouse · DC-054 | Joliet, IL | Announced | 1,800 | 378 | Not disclosed | 29.6 | C | |
| Project CardinalPioneer Development · DC-055 | Yorkville, IL | Announced | 1,800 | 378 | Not disclosed | 29.6 | C | |
| Hyperscale Data MichiganHyperscale Data, Inc. · DC-018 | Dowagiac, MI | Operating | 340 | 340 | Grid | 26.6 | D | |
| Wildcat Ridge AI CampusCornell Realty Management · DC-063 | Archbald, PA | Announced | 1,600 | 336 | Not disclosed | 26.3 | C | |
| AWS Wilderness CrossingAmazon · DC-070 | Montford (Orange County), VA | Announced | 1,500 | 315 | Not disclosed | 24.6 | C | |
| Rubix Project AshlandRubix Data Centers · DC-045 | Russell, KY | Proposed | 2,000 | 180 | Not disclosed | 14.1 | D | |
| Fundamental Data RidgelineFundamental Data · DC-050 | Hambleton, WV | Proposed | 2,000 | 180 | Not disclosed | 14.1 | D | |
| Adams Fork Data Center Energy CampusTransGas Development Systems · DC-040 | Wharncliffe, WV | Proposed | 2,400 | 173 | On-site gas | 28.5 | D |
Sources
- PJM files backstop capacity auction at FERCUtility Dive · Aug 3, 2026
- PJM 2028/29 capacity auctionEnviron Energy · 2026
- PJM Board outlines plans to integrate large loads in 2026T&D World · Jan 22, 2026
- Data centers in Virginia ordered to pay for transmission upgradesWJLA · Aug 5, 2026
- Federal Power Act 202(c) Order 202-26-23 (PJM)U.S. Department of Energy · May 18, 2026
- Federal Power Act 202(c) Order 202-26-33 (PJM)U.S. Department of Energy · Jun 30, 2026
- PJM load forecast and data centersModo Energy · 2026
- Sustained high PJM capacity prices ramp up urgency for data center reformCitizens Utility Board · Jul 15, 2026Consumer advocate