Nebius Independence
A hyperscale AI campus by Nebius in Independence, MO, on the SPP grid. Status: announced.
Grid and gas impact
At full buildout this campus is announced at 1,200 MW. After phasing to 2030 and weighting by build stage, the index expects about 252 MW running by 2030. That is about 0.4% of the SPP 2025 peak (56,000 MW).
At that level it would use about 1,656 GWh of electricity a year, roughly what 153,000 US homes use (EIA average of about 10,800 kWh per home), and add about 16.4 MMcf/d of natural gas burn on an average day, counting both on-site generation and the region's gas-fired power plants.
Its rating is driven by grid load: power is expected to come mostly from the utility grid, so the effect shows up in transmission, capacity and generation needs, and in the gas burned by the region's power plants. Rated 2 of 4 bolts. Outlined bolts mean the campus is approved, announced or proposed and may not be built as planned.
Research note. Up to 1.2 GW on ~400 acres.
Fact sheet
- Index ID
- DC-078
- Campus
- Nebius Independence
- Developer / tenant
- Nebius
- Segment
- Hyperscale AI
- Location
- Independence, MO
- State / province
- Missouri
- Country
- United States
- Metro
- Kansas City
- Grid region
- SPP
- Electric utility
- TBD
- Status
- Announced (counts 35% toward 2030)
- Online / target
- Not disclosed
- Announced capacity
- 1,200 MW (Campus potential)
- Expected load by 2030
- 252 MW (index estimate)
- Annual energy at expected load
- about 1,656 GWh
- Power supply
- Not disclosed
- Added gas burn, average day
- 16.4 MMcf/d (index estimate)
- Impact rating
- (2 of 4; scale)
- Confidence
- C (One secondary source)
- Last reviewed
- November 3, 2026
Sources
- AI is driving data center power demandBusiness Insider via AOL · 2026
Every source used across the index is listed in the source log. Spotted an error? Email info@deaudits.com with "Correction: DC-078" in the subject.
How to cite
Data Center Index (datacenterindex.info), Discovery Energy. "Nebius Independence" (DC-078), https://datacenterindex.info/campuses/dc-078-nebius-independence/, updated November 3, 2026.